by admin in

The eChampions League is returning for a third and likely more exciting season, with a huge prize pool up for grabs.

EA and UEFA have released details pertaining to a third edition of the eChampions League on the back of two successful seasons as a FIFA tournament.

FIFA has been one of the go-to esports games for some time now and has provided a platform on which millions of players can connect with and compete against one another. The eChampions League, set to be part of the FIFA 21 Global Series, is likely to bring a whole lot more excitement to FIFA fans as long as they’re in eligible countries. A recent patch for the game has opened up the possibility of certain regions getting blocked for FUT in what appears to be part of EA’s preparation for loot box sanctions. In the meantime, however, players can enjoy a cool, free card ahead of the holidays.

“Electronic Arts Inc. and the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) today announced the return of the eChampions League, an EA SPORTS™ FIFA 21 Global Series* tournament connecting millions of football fans and FIFA players worldwide.”

“Our continued relationship with UEFA allows us to merge the best of virtual and traditional football through the eChampions League, creating more can’t-miss moments for esports fans and football fans alike,” Brent Koning, EA SPORTS FIFA Commissioner, noted in a press release. “The UEFA Champions League holds a prestigious legacy linking many of the greatest moments in football history. With the eChampions League, we’re able to tap into that excitement and glory recreating the football spectacle on the virtual pitch.”

“The first two editions of the eChampions league have seen the competition become an established top-level event within the football simulation game calendar.” said Guy-Laurent Epstein, UEFA marketing director. We have taken immense satisfaction from the positive feedback we have received from gamers who have thoroughly enjoyed the unique experience of competing in the UEFA Champions League game mode. The viewing figures and engagement that the eChampions League has received are testimony to the role it plays in connecting with existing and new fans of the UEFA Champions League.”

Eligible contenders will be able to face off in online qualifiers on February 1, 13 and 14. European PlayStation FUT verified players are will be included. See eligibility rules here.

Competitors will aim to be one of the 32 who progress to a Knockout Stage which will be played over a two-day period (May 1-2). The eight who advance will compete in the eChampions League Final via a double-elimination bracket on the day before the real-life Champions League Final on May 29.

Both the group stage and final will be livestreamed on and Viewers will also be presented the opportunity to earn FIFA Global Series Viewership Awards.

The winner of the eChampions League will rake in the lion’s share of the competition’s $280,000 prize pool, with the top three players to earn spots in the FIFA 21 Global Series European Regional PlayStation 4 Playoffs.

Courtesy of TheGamer

Related Posts

No Comments

Leave a Reply